The Exchequer and Admiralty Court.

831. The Exchequer Court, presided over by a separate judge, who must reside in, or within five miles of Ottawa, possesses exclusive original jurisdiction in all cases in which demand is made, or relief sought, in respect of any suit or action of the Court of Exchequer on its revenue side, against the Crown or any of its officers. This court also possesses concurrent original jurisdiction in all cases in which it is sought to enforce any law relating to the revenue. The court may sit at any time and at any place in Canada. This court is also a colonial court of Admiralty (The Admiralty Act, 1891, 54-55 Vic., c. 29), having such jurisdiction throughout Canada and its waters, whether tidal or non-tidal, naturally or artificially navigable, and such rights and remedies in all matters connected with navigation, shipping, trade and commerce, as may be had or enforced in any colonial court of admiralty, under the Imperial "Colonial Courts of Admiralty Act, 1890." Admiralty districts, presided over by local judges in admiralty of the exchequer courts, have been established under the above Act, (Admiralty Act, 1891) for the provinces of Quebec, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, British Columbia, Prince Edward Island and the "Toronto Admiralty District," the limits of which last are fixed from time to time by the Governor in Council.

The superior courts.

832. The superior courts of the several provinces are constituted as follow: Ontario-The Supreme Court of Judicature, composed of the Chief Justice of Ontario and three Justices of Appeal, and the High Court of Justice, divided into three divisions, having concurrent jurisdiction, viz.: The Queen's Bench and Common Pleas divisions, each presided over by a Chief Justice and two judges, and the Chancery division, presided over by a Chancellor and three judges. Quebec-The Chief Justice of the Queen's Bench and five puisne judges, and the Chief Justice of the Superior Court, and twenty-nine puisne judges, whose residences are fixed in various parts of the province. Nova Scotia and New Brunswick—The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, the Judge in Equity, and five and four puisne judges respectively. Manitoba—The Chief Justice and three puisne judges. British Columbia—The Chief Justice and four puisne judges. Prince Edward Island—The Chief Justice and two assistant judges. In the Northwest Territories there are five puisne judges of the Supreme Court.

County courts. Magistrates. 833. There are also county courts, with variously limited jurisdiction, in all the provinces, but not in the North-west Territories. Police magistrates and justices of the peace, of whom there is an ample supply in each province, are appointed by the provincial governments.

Penitentiaries and inmates. 834. There are five penitentiaries in the Dominion, situated at Kingston, Ont., St. Vincent de Paul, Montreal, Que., Dorchester, N.B., Stony Mountain, Man., and New Westminster, B.C., and the total convict population of Canada (that is the total number confined in the above penitentiaries) on 30th June, 1891, was 1,249, as compared with